Die ehemalige Wasserburg Auel wurde erstmals 1391 urkundlich erwähnt.
The Castle Auel is a charming Baroque castle located in the middle of a huge park with beautiful water-lily ponds. Since decades the Castle Auel has been in the property of noble families. The former water-surrounded castle (with a Baroque chapel) was mentioned in a document for the first time in 1391, when it was still in the possession of the family von Auel. In 1763, the main building was erected on the former ground plan. Today, there is only the three-wing manor-house left; the domestic building was pulled down and the ditches were filled-up. The main wing has two floors and a steep mansard roof. The side parts are covered with hipped roofs. The one-floor side wings were additionally established in the same style in the 20th century, so that the Castle Auel presents itself as a uniform ensemble.
For more than 200 years now the castle has been the property of the Lords of the Manor von La Valette. Today, the castle with its hotel and restaurant invites for a stay. It also provides a wonderful golf course on its area. Weddings and christenings take place in the castle’s chapel.